Lt.-Gov. Janice C. Filmon will present the Lieutenant Governor’s Historical Preservation and Promotion awards at 5:00 p.m. today at Government House to five Manitobans for their prolonged, meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of the province’s history and heritage.  Recipients are:

  • Barry Bills (Brandon);
  • Jim Blanchard (Winnipeg);
  • Diane Dubé (St Georges);
  • Maralyn MacKay-Hussain (Selkirk); and
  • Bruce Tascona (Pilot Mound).

“These awards provide a wonderful opportunity to celebrate those who dedicate significant time, energy and creativity to ensure the province’s rich history is kept alive,” said Lt.-Gov. Filmon.  “Whether through stewardship of the provinces historic buildings, museums and archives, the writing of books or creating programs to engage and inspire future historians, these outstanding Manitobans care deeply about the communities in which they live.  It is a pleasure to recognize their efforts and achievements.”

The MHS receives award nominations from the public and recommends up to five people to receive awards each year.  Nominations are welcome at any time.

Further details of the award program along with a nomination form are available on the Manitoba Historical Society website at and can also be accessed through the website of the lieutenant-governor at


– 30 –

Contact:   Gordon Goldsborough, 204-782-8829

                 Kate Gameiro, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, 204-945-2752