September 8, 2020

Lt.-Gov. Janice C. Filmon will present the Lieutenant Governor’s Historical Preservation and Promotion awards at 5 p.m. today at Government House to five Manitobans for their prolonged, meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of the province’s history and heritage.  Recipients are:

  • Jean Ammeter (Headingley);
  • John Burchill (Winnipeg); 
  • Gordon Crossley (Winnipeg);
  • Gail Perry (Winnipeg); and
  • Shirley Render (Winnipeg).

“In every community, in every city and town, there are individuals who devote their time and expertise to preserving documents, creating historical studies, restoring or maintaining historical buildings and artifacts, bringing the past to life in schools, museums and historic sites, and advocating for historical understanding” said Lt.-Gov. Filmon.  “The dedication of the five individuals being honored is even more meaningful in this, the 150th anniversary of the province’s entry into confederation. It is a pleasure to celebrate their commitment to ensuring Manitoba’s rich history is kept alive.”

The MHS receives award nominations from the public and recommends up to five people to receive awards each year.  Nominations are welcome at any time.  

Further details of the award program along with a nomination form are available on the Manitoba Historical Society website at and can also be accessed through the website of the lieutenant-governor at

– 30 –

Contact: Gordon Goldsborough, 204-782-8829

Kate Gameiro, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, 204-945-2752